Peace of the soul!

April 6, 2011

About 3 weeks ago I went to the gym with my friend for the very first time. Before going there I was terrified of the place. I was sure that I would never step foot into one for the duration that I was at Rutgers. I have been enjoying the gym ever since. I started running, which is something that I would have never done if it were not for my friend pushing me. Other than gaining muscle I have noticed that I my disposition to life is starting to change. The initial change didn’t start at the gym, but the gym did amplify it. I started to feel my soul fly. It went from slightly broken to soaring! It all really started at the beginning of the semester with DANCE! I have modern dance which in some mysterious way relieves me of my stress. I didn’t realize it was making me more relaxed as well. It loosened me up and I began to feel relaxed. I decided to dissect the dance a bit more and figure out what it was that was making me so relaxed; and I figured out that it was the stretching and the quasi yoga and resistance training moves that expended all of my energy and made me feel free. There is definitely something to be said for slow breathing and stretching.  I am not able to solo the gym yet, but I am getting there, and thanks to my  good friend KATE I will be able to experience more yoga!!!

YAY YOGA!!

Leave a Reply

