Brrrr, it’s cold in here

January 26, 2011

Ask Mr. Green, Freezer Temperature

This audiocast from Ask Mr. Green deals with the fridge and freezer. Both are amenities we sometimes don’t realize are affecting our energy bills, especially when we turn them up to “coldest cold” to try to squeeze a few extra days out of those deli meats. He tells a concerned listener that the best temperatures to set both are 34 degrees for the fridge and 0 degrees for the freezer. I personally don’t like using the highest settings on the either, because it causes freezer burn too easily and causes little ice chunks to appear in my V8, which is not cool(lame pun). He also reminds listeners to not stand at the appliance with the door open. That mindless pondering at what to eat for 10 minutes lets all the cold air out, and then both appliances have to crank out energy to get back to the temperature setting. Mr. Green suggests EnergyStar when considering buying a refridgerator.

This one actually took me a long time to find. I’m not one to go search enviro blogs(in fact, i think most of them are terrible) and most of the blogs I found only offered articles or video. The only other audiocasts I could find were interviews with the creators of the Venture Brothers(both of which are 48min+) or from the Onion, which although short and sweet offer nothing but biting satire. Since neither of those choices seemed appropriate, I looked for Mr. Green, the only blog I knew of with an audiocast. And to be honest, I prefer the Onion and the Venture interviews because both of them interest me more than some ‘guru’ telling me how buying local free-range beef will save the planet. Those are pretty depressing, and I go on sites for humor. I hope I can bring some humor to whatever project I’m working on this semester, as that’s what interests me, and I feel a funny podcast that has a decent moral works better than a dry one with heavy overtones. I don’t like blogging, as I find most blogs useless and very self-promotional, and we have enough BS in the media today, but this is at least my two cents for now.

Leave a Reply

